National CP Awareness Day gives us an opportunity to appreciate what we’re given 

National Cerebral Palsy Awareness Day is not solely for social media and to see how many likes or comments you can get, but rather one for awareness for a condition that can have an impact on the lives of many.

I could try to raise awareness by talking about how Cerebral Palsy can cause complications, instead I want to focus on how God has blessed me by CP to where I am today.

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11

The Lord has a great purpose in life for myself and many others battling daily to persevere through this condition. Throughout the journey of surgery and being knocked down in my younger days, to currently working on improving with walking independently, I may have felt like I didn’t have a purpose.

image1

Two stages of a battle for independence, being knocked down and having to get back up to reach your goals.

As I have matured, God has opened a door for me, showing me a purpose in life and blessing me with the greatest support system in the world, and giving me the tools I need to pursue independence.

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”‭‭ – Isaiah‬ ‭41:10

My life is full of obstacles, and some days are better than others. However, I’m thankful to be alive and to be in the situation I’m in. I must remember that there is always going to be someone worse off than the current situation I’m in. Therefore, I can’t complain and must push through. Complaining has no benefit, as it’ll get you know where. I have amazing motivators, and my determination will drive me to where I need to be.

Physically, I will not falter and reach my goals of walking independently at graduation. This goal is one I’ve been trying to achieve for a lifetime, and it’s truly a joy. Without being blessed with a challenge, the God-given joy from achieving a physical task wouldn’t be possible.

My condition is a blessing, and I will not quit, give my all and reach my goals. God has blessed me the past few months, and granted me with wonderful things, such as a college plan and a career path.

Cerebral Palsy is not a disability but rather a change of ability, and a set of circumstances for God to use us with that challenge in special ways, and I couldn’t be more thankful for what lies ahead of me. I thank those close to me for pushing me, inspiring me and giving me wisdom through my physical climb.

This awareness day could be one where we focus on finding a cure, by stating how those struggle with this condition. Instead, let’s take an alternative approach and follow God’s path and be thankful for the situation we’re in, and pray that God opens up the door to heal us from the condition and give us the physical freedom we all desire.

Leave a comment